April 6, 2015

40:20150330Steilacoom

Hello everybody! I hope you all had a great Easter weekend! We had a lot of fun going around and talking to people about Easter and the Resurrection of Christ. It was all really good!

General Conference was also really good! I had a lot of questions of mine answered. There were a lot of talks that I really enjoyed. One of my favorites was Dallin H. Oaks talk on the Parable of the Sower, and how he explained it. It really helped make a lot more sense to me than it did before. Another one of my favorites was President Uchdorf’s talk during the Priesthood Session on the Potemkin village. I really enjoyed that as well as Henry B. Eyring’s talk during the Priesthood session and that is just to to name a few.

In my scripture reading I’m now on Helaman chapter 5. One of the most Inspiring scriptures that I read last week, was Alma 58:39-40. These verses are talking about the 2000 Stripling warriors.

39:  “And those sons of the people of Ammon of whom I have so highly spoken, are with me in the city of Manti; and the Lord has supported them, yea and kept them from falling by the sword, insomuch that even one soul has not been slain.

40:  But behold, they have received many wounds; nevertheless they stand fast in that liberty wherewith God has made them free; and they are strict to remember the lord their God from day to day; yea, they do observe to keep his statutes, and his judgments, and his commandments continually; and their faith is strong in the prophecies concerning that which is to come.”

One of the biggest things I got out of this scripture is that if we expect to be blessed by the Lord then we must be willing to be obedient. Never did it say that being obedient was going to be fun or easy. In fact in this account it mentions that the stripling warriors received many wounds. In another battle it’s mentioned that even though none them were killed they all had received many severe wounds and many of them had fainted from the loss of blood. Obedience will sometimes tear us from what we think is the best choice or a situation that we think is harmless. Those are the times that Heavenly Father is trying our faith. But, from that trial we can be blessed by the Lord.

I hope you all have a great week!

Love,

Elder Kody Kitchin

Leave a Reply

